Tags

, , ,

I just got back from a week-long beach vacation, and what’s there to do on those long, lazy do-nothing days at the beach house? Knit, that’s what. And read a lot. Actually, I read more than I knitted, and it was glorious.

I read The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood, The Help by Kathryn Stockett, and Middlesex by Jeffery Eugenides, and started Tales from the 1001 Nights translated by Sir Richard Burton. I blew through the first three (I read Handmaid’s Tail in a day), but Burton’s old stuffy English is a bit slower to read. Plus, I was starting to feel poorly, so there was definitely a day of mindless stockinette stitch knitting and James Bond marathon watching.

Now, the knitting! I just finished a pair of armwarmers (on the right up there), with the help of Firefly. The pattern is A Friend to Knit With’s Toasty, in Brown Sheep Co.’s Lambs Pride Superwash. The color is a really beautiful bluish green, and the yarn is woolen, so the armwarmers are warm and cozy. I’m working on a baby blanket and a pair of socks as well, and have promised myself not to cast on any other projects till I finish at least one of these. Which is too bad, because I’m dying to try my hand at making a sweater!

 

PS – I did spend a lot of time at the beach, too! And in the pool. And in a rocking chair on our back deck, watching the waves roll in. It was bliss.

